Fonvizin’s Portraits

The artist Alla Belyakova was Artur Fonvizin’s muse and (if she is to be believed) lover. He painted innumerable portraits of a variety of characters and subjects using her likeness. Here are some of them.

Alla Belyakova. (1955).

Woman in green.

Carmen

Zaspaziya

Gypsy woman

Salome

Another of Fonvizin’s subjects was the artist Natalia Kravchenko. He presented her family with four portraits of her that he painted in the 1940s and 1950s.

Natalia Kravchenko. (Early 1950s).

Natalia Kravchenko. (1950s).

Natalia Kravchenko. (1950s).

Natalia Kravchenko. (1950s).

Fonvizin painted circus artists, ballerinas, theatre actresses, children. Here’s a painting of Imast.

Natalia Goncharova once wrote about Imast:

I received letters from an unknown correspondent who signed herself ‘Imast’. She announced that she was a witch who could tell my fortune and said that I would get many awards and surprises. The letters were very entertaining and eccentric. I never actually met her, but she sent me this portrait via someone else as a present (Fonvizin!!!)…

Here’s Fonvizin’s portrait of the prima ballerina Maya Plisetskaya:

Maya Plisetskaya

And here are some more works by the master.

Portrait of Malkhosian’s Daughter.

Portrait of the actress N. I. Slonova.

A Smile. (1940s).

Galina Streletskaya

2 thoughts on “Fonvizin’s Portraits

  1. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future
    but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for
    getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

